DNR proposes no antlerless quotas for 13 counties this fall

MADISON (AP) — The state Department of Natural Resources plans to ask its board this month to prohibit hunters from killing antlerless deer in 13 counties in effort to regrow the herd.

The DNR's plan calls for no antlerless quotas in Douglas, Bayfield, Sawyer, Ashland, Iron, Vilas, Price, Oneida, Langlade, Forest, Florence and Racine counties as well a portion of Jackson County.

DNR officials say the herd across most of the northern forests remains well below desired levels. They say this past winter was mild but the herd needs more time to regrow itself.

The DNR's board is expected to consider the plan at a May 27 meeting in Madison.