WISCONSIN -- Beginning Thursday, November 1st, it will be illegal for new Wisconsin drivers to use cell phones. It's a new law aimed at teenagers and young adults. Meanwhile, one driver's ed instructor told FOX6 News this new law likely won't make much of a difference.
The law bans the use of any cellular device or wireless device for drivers with an instruction permit or probationary license. It also applies to new state residents with fewer than three years of experience and new residents under the age of 21.
Consequences include fines of $20 to $40 for a first offense and $50 to $100 for a subsequent offense within a year.
Jackie Rottler has taught driver's ed to students at Hamilton High School for 31 years. In that time, distracted driving has become a big part of her program.
As for the new law, Rottler predicts it won't make much of a difference.
"I think it's gotta start with the families. I think parents have to realize they're the ones who have to make their child be aware of what happens when they're on the phone and driving," Rottler said.
Students themselves say the basics of driving are hard enough -- without a phone in their hand.
"Keeping the speed limit. I also have a problem with hugging the road. I'm always on the right side too much," Brandon Krueger said.
"I see, just being in the passenger seat, cars slowing down, stopping suddenly like 'what's going on?' And you see them distracted by their cell phones," Abby Litzau said.
"Hopefully the law will make some change and make parents more aware that they need to talk to their students about it," Rottler said.
Texting while driving is already illegal for all Wisconsin drivers.