17 students receive college scholarships with help of Brewers

MILWAUKEE (WITI) -- Seventeen Wisconsin students will receive scholarships to attend college this fall with the help of the Brewers Community Foundation and Brewers players.

Seven students will receive Player Scholarships, six will receive Selig Scholarships, and two students each will receive scholarships from the Michael J. Bonan Scholarship Fund and the Miller Park Community Scholarship Program.

The students and their families attended the Brewers game on Saturday, May 25th, where the students were honored on field in a pre-game ceremony.

As the scholarship recipients attend college, they will be invited to participate in several volunteer and internship opportunities offered through the Brewers Community Foundation.

The 17 students, along with their college choices and scholarship types, are:

Jordan Backes -  Marquette University (Michael J. Bonan Scholarship)

Nolan Bargender – University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

Casby Bias - Marquette University (Player Scholarship)

Anton Gumina – UW-Whitewater  (Player Scholarship)

McKayla Figueroa  - Marquette University (Selig Scholarship)

Alexis Handley – University of Wisconsin (Player Scholarship)

Bruce Lee – UW-Milwaukee (Player Scholarship)

Brandon Li -  University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

Emily Lynn McAllister - University of Wisconsin (Player Scholarship)

Atiya Muhammad  - Marquette University (Player Scholarship)

Carlos Orozco  - University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

Aaliyah Rodgers – University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

Josh Roper – UW-Platteville (Miller Park Community Scholarship)

Emily Thiede - WCTC (Miller Park Community Scholarship)

Devin Veith -  UW-Fox Valley (Player Scholarship)

Cory Washington – University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

Kevin Worm -  Cardinal Stritch (Michael J. Bonan Scholarship)

A total of 116 students from the Class of 2013 have been selected as scholarship recipients since 2003.