Seahawks dominate Broncos in Super Bowl, 43-8

(CNN) -- The Seattle Seahawks dominated the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl XLVIII on Sunday, February 2nd, playing a suffocating defense to win 43-8.

Peyton Manning was named the NFL's MVP at the 2014 NFL Honors Saturday night but then struggled Sunday in the Super Bowl against the Seattle Seahawks.

Seattle set a record for quickest score in Super Bowl history when Manning missed the Broncos' snap and the ball ended up in the end zone recovered by Denver's Knowshon Moreno, but the Seahawks picked up two points for the safety, all in 12 seconds.

On Seattle's next possession, Steven Hauschka kicked a 31-yard field goal to give the Seahawks a quick 5-0 lead with 10:21 still to go in the first quarter.  Hauschka added another 33 yarder to give Seattle the 8-0 lead at the end of the first.

Manning and the Broncos went the entire first quarter without a first down and Manning picked up his first interception of the game when a pass intended for Julius Thomas was picked off by Kam Chancellor.

The second quarter was even more of a disaster for Denver. Seattle added two more touchdowns, a one-yard run by Marshawn Lynch and a pick six intercepted by Malcolm Smith returned for the 69-yard score.

The first half ended with Seattle leading 22-0 while Manning went into the break with two interceptions.

The second half didn't get any better for the Broncos as Seattle continued to shine.

Seahawks' Percy Harvin kept their momentum going -- opening the half with an 87-yard kickoff return for a touchdown and Seattle lead 29-0.  Jermaine Kearse and Russell Wilson later connected for a 23-yard score widening the gap to 36-0.

But the third quarter would have the lone Broncos touchdown, a nice 14-yard pass from Manning to Demaryius Thomas. The two-point conversion was good and the score was now 36-8.

But the hole was too deep for Denver and Seattle added another score in the fourth -- a Doug Baldwin and Russell Wilson 10-yard connection, and the Seahawks own the Lombardi Trophy, winning the Super Bowl 43-8.

Russell Wilson became the only ex-Badger to start at quarterback and win the Super Bowl.  Wilson went 18-25 with two touchdowns and 206 yards passing.

Manning finished 34-49 with one touchdown, two interceptions and 280 yards passing.

Seahawks' Malcolm Smith won the Super Bowl MVP award for his huge effort of 10 tackles and the pick six in the second quarter.

This is the first Super Bowl victory for the Seattle franchise.