Wave stomp on Comets in first game of playoffs, 27-10

INDEPEDENCE, MO -- The Milwaukee Wave are one game closer in their hunt for their sixth world championship with a 27-10 win over the Missouri Comets in game 1 of the MISL Playoffs. Although the Comets controlled the first quarter the Wave regrouped to cut the lead to one at halftime and dominated the second half.

Leo Gibson’s two goals in the first quarter gave the Comets a 4-0 lead. Marco Terminesi quickly got the Wave on the board in the second quarter cutting the Comets’ lead to 4-2. Joe Hammes tied the game for the Wave shortly thereafter. The Comets’ however regained the lead after they cashed in on the first power play of the night as the Wave’s Tom Oatley was sent to the penalty box. The Wave took their first lead after a 3-point goal by Evan McNeley. The Comets’ then recaptured the lead after Bato Radoncic was fouled in the penalty area and converted a penalty kick giving the Comets an 8-7 lead going into halftime.

The Wave made the necessary adjustments during halftime and commanded the third quarter scoring six goals while holding the Comets’ scoreless. They scored less than a minute in on a power play goal by Terminesi. The Wave added to their lead as Giuliano Oliviero scored. Hewerton then finished an attack started by Marcio Leite. Oliviero scored his second goal of the night on a delayed penalty giving the Wave a 15-8 lead. The Comets’ deflected the ball into their own net as Ian Bennett was given credit for the goal. Josh Rife netted the final goal of the quarter giving the Wave a 19-8 lead. The Wave continued their aggressive approached and opened the fourth quarter with a goal as McNeley scored his second 3-point goal of the night. After eight Wave goals the Comets’ Radoncic scored. The Wave’s J.P. Rodrigues scored a final 3-point goal of the game giving the Wave a 27-10 win

The Wave will host Game 2 of the MISL Central Division series on Sunday, March 11 in Milwaukee. If necessary, a 15-minute mini-game would immediately follow Game 2 to decide the representative in the MISL Championship Series.