4-Real: Brett Favre elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

SAN FRANCISCO — Brett Favre, Ken Stabler, Marvin Harrison, Kevin Greene, Orlando Pace and Tony Dungy have been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The class of 2016 also includes contributor Ed DeBartolo Jr. and senior selection Dick Stanfel.

The announcement was made Saturday, February 6th -- a day before the Denver Broncos would face the Carolina Panthers in the Super Bowl.

Five nominees were eliminated in the final vote: players Terrell Davis, Joe Jacoby, John Lynch and Kurt Warner, and coach Don Coryell.

Earlier Saturday, the selection committee reduced the list of 15 modern-day finalists by cutting Terrell Owens, Edgerrin James, Steve Atwater, Alan Faneca and Morten Anderson.

Quotes on Brett Favre's election:

Packers Chairman Emeritus Bob Harlan:

“We were very fortunate to have someone like Brett Favre come along, and it was a controversial move when Ron Wolf sent a first-round draft choice to Atlanta for a third-string quarterback. But it turned out to be the best trade in Packers history and maybe one of the top trades in the history of the National Football League. What I am most thankful for is Brett gave us 16 wonderful years of exciting, winning football, and of all the records he set, I think the most amazing was the 253 consecutive starts at quarterback. He was playing the most difficult position in the toughest sport and every Sunday he was ready to give everything he had for this franchise. That turned out to be two trips to the Super Bowl and three MVPs, and it was really a remarkable career. When you look back at the problems we had in Green Bay in the 1970s and 1980s, you have to thank him because it was Brett Favre, Reggie White, Ron Wolf and Mike Holmgren that formed the foundation to bring this franchise back to elite status.”

Former Packers Vice President and General Manager Ron Wolf:  

"When I traded for Brett Favre I thought he would be sensational. He became incomparable. They say that old Yankee Stadium was the house that Ruth built. Well, the Lambeau Field reconstruction is the house that Favre built.”

Packers EVP, General Manager and Director of Football Operations Ted Thompson:

"Congratulations to Brett on his selection into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. He is a once in a generation type of player. He was also a great teammate and his contributions and impact on Green Bay and the NFL are remarkable. This is a well-deserved honor and a great day for football.”

Packers Head Coach Mike McCarthy:

"Selection into the Pro Football Hall of Fame is another incredible and well-deserved honor for Brett. He belongs among the greatest players in the history of the game. It was a privilege to work with Brett during his spectacular career with the Green Bay Packers. Congratulations Brett, Deanna and the Favre family.”

Packers President/CEO Mike Murphy:

"The Green Bay Packers organization and all our fans congratulate Brett on his election into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Brett was a one-of-a-kind player with an approach to the game that endeared him not only to Packers fans, but also to millions of football fans across the world. He’s one of the game’s all-time greats and this honor is well deserved. We look forward to his enshrinement ceremony in August.”

READ IT: Statement from the Packers on Favre's election to Pro Football Hall of Fame.