Wisconsin DNR to reopen 8 state shooting ranges

MADISON — The state Department of Natural Resources plans to reopen eight of 11 shooting ranges on Thursday with a host of conditions.

Shooters will have to maintain six feet of social distancing and observe capacity limits at some locations. Some facilities won't allow shooters inside closed buildings.

Visitors are encouraged to wear face masks and gloves and bring their own hand sanitizer. People should wait in their vehicles until enough space opens up for them to use the range and shooters should leave immediately when finished and not linger to visit with others. Shooters should travel to ranges only in their home counties.

Ranges re-opening include the McMiller Sports Center in Waukesha County; Boulder Junction and Caywood in Vilas County; Hay Creek in Price County; Snaketrack and Northwoods in Iron County; Wautoma in Waushara County; and Yellowstone in Lafayette County.

The three ranges that will remain closed are Columbia in Columbia County, Peshtigo in Marinette County and Cornell in Chippewa County. DNR officials say those ranges will stay closed due to spring construction, ground conditions and staffing needs.