Six Flags announces new 'free-fly' roller coaster: "It will take our park to the next level"

GURNEE, Ill. -- Six Flags Great America on Thursday, September 1st announced plans for its 15th and most maniacal roller coaster to date, the all-new free-fly coaster, The Joker.

The Joker is expected to open in the spring of 2017, and join the ranks of all a long line of legendary roller coasters at Six Flags Great America.

This coaster will be a massive new centerpiece in the Yankee Harbor section of the park, next to Batman The Ride roller coaster.

After being lifted straight up a 12-story, 90-degree hill, the free-fly coaster will wreak havoc as riders flip head-over-heels at least six times along the weightless journey. Thrill seekers will experience exhilarating leaps and dives along a horizontal plane with unexpected drops as they tumble from one level to the next. The wing seats amp up the pandemonium since riders will experience this wild adventure with no track above or below ─ just the sky, ground and plenty of sinister thrills.

The unique design of The Joker features:

    Six Flags Great America is also announcing the start of 2017 Season Pass sales with its special Flash Sale through Labor Day weekend featuring the best deal of the year – savings up to 70% off on 2017 Passes!

    September 1 through September 5, guests will receive a free upgrade to a Gold Season Pass with every Pass purchased. Gold Season Passes include admission to both Six Flags Great America and Hurricane Harbor, and any other Six Flags theme park, as well as free parking and special admission for friends. 2017 Season Passes provide unlimited visits to Fright Fest® at Six Flags Great America in 2016 and all of 2017.

    Passholders may also purchase a Premium Season Dining Pass, which includes a lunch, dinner, and snack during every park visit, plus they will receive a 2017 All Season Sport Bottle for unlimited drink refills. Premium Season Dining Passes may be used at any Six Flags theme park.

    For more information about the 2017 season, click here.