UW System regents change two-year school names

MADISON — University of Wisconsin System regents have changed the name of another 10 two-year schools as the campuses merge with nearby four-year institutions.

The regents on Friday approved renaming UW-Marathon County as UW-Stevens Point at Wausau; UW-Marshfield/Wood County as UW-Stevens Point at Marshfield; and UW-Rock County as UW-Whitewater at Rock County.

They also changed the name UW-Manitowoc to UW-Green Bay, Manitowoc Campus; UW-Marinette to UW-Green Bay, Marinette Campus; and UW-Sheboygan to UW-Green Bay, Sheboygan Campus.

Below is a statement from UW-Green Bay's Chancellor Gary Miller: 

“From the beginning of the restructuring process, we made a promise to Northeast Wisconsin that we aim to have one University with a unified faculty, staff, and student body at four campuses. The name change approved by the Board of Regents fulfills our obligation. We believe this name change allows each community to maintain the tradition and history of their campus, while leveraging the international Green bay brand.”

UW-Washington County and UW-Waukesha will be UW-Milwaukee at Washington County and UW-Milwaukee at Waukesha.

Below is a statement from UW-Milwaukee's Chancellor Mark Mone: 

“The addition of Waukesha and Washington County campuses to UW-Milwaukee is positive for students and the community. We will continue to provide access to high-quality academic programs, while also delivering a seamless transfer to a four-year degree. In addition, we’ll offer more academic and internship options for students, while addressing local needs and strengthening partnerships in our region and throughout Wisconsin.”

UW-Baraboo/Sauk County will be UW-Platteville Baraboo Sauk County. UW-Richland will be UW-Platteville Richland.

The regents changed UW-Barron County's name to UW-Eau Claire-Barron County in June.

UW-Oshkosh has yet to propose name changes for UW-Fox Valley and UW-Fond du Lac.