Health official: 28 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in state, 7 in Milwaukee County

MADISON -- According to City of Milwaukee Health Commissioner Jeanette Kowalik, Wisconsin has 28 total coronavirus cases in eight counties as of Saturday, March 14 -- a nine-case rise from March 13. Seven of those cases are in Milwaukee County, which includes two in Milwaukee and one in Franklin. For the first time, the total includes a case in Winnebago County.

Here is the breakdown of what we are seeing in terms of the number of cases:

    Of the 28, one person in Dane County has recovered. 246 people in the state have tested negative for the virus.

    Gov. Evers declared a statewide public health emergency March 12 due to the spread of the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic. CLICK HERE for more information from the Wisconsin Department of Health Services.