Five Wisconsin public schools named "Blue Ribbon Schools"

MADISON (WITI) -- Wisconsin Superintendent Tony Evers congratulated five Wisconsin public schools on Tuesday, September 24th that were named 2013 Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education for their success at improving student achievement.

The schools, among 286 named nationwide, are

    The Blue Ribbon Schools Program began in 1982 to recognize schools striving to achieve excellence. Nearly 7,500 of America’s schools have received the Blue Ribbon honor during the program’s history. Characteristics of Blue Ribbon Schools include leaders who articulate a vision of excellence and stay involved in day-to-day teaching and learning; high standards for teachers, students, and administrators; diligent use of data to adapt teaching and learning to support every student; and a school culture of mutual respect and trust.

    Schools earning the award receive a plaque and flag signifying their status as a Blue Ribbon School. A principal and teacher also will be invited to attend a Nov. 18-19 recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C.