Brewers announce baseball writers awards for 2012

MILWAUKEE -- The Milwaukee Brewers announced their postseason award winners on Monday, October 15th as voted by members of the Milwaukee Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA).

Left fielder Ryan Braun was voted Brewers Most Valuable Player for the second straight season as he received all eight first-place votes (40 points). He was followed by third baseman Aramis Ramirez (24 points) and Corey Hart (8 points). Braun is the first player since first baseman Richie Sexson (2001-03) to win the award in consecutive seasons.

Braun batted .319 with 41 HR, 112 RBI and 30 stolen bases in 154 games this season. He led the National League in home runs, total bases (356), runs (108) and OPS (.987) while tying for the lead in extra-base hits (80). He was also among the National League leaders in RBI (2nd), hits (2nd, 191), slugging percentage (2nd, .595), batting average (3rd), on-base percentage (3rd, .391) and stolen bases (T9th). Braun produced just the 11th “40/30” season in Major League history.

Yovani Gallardo was voted Brewers Most Valuable Pitcher as he received all eight first-place votes (40 points). Marco Estrada (13 points) and Mike Fiers (8 points) were his closest competition. Gallardo went 16-9 with a 3.66 ERA in 33 starts this season. He ranked among the National League leaders in quality starts (T2nd, 25), strikeouts (6th, 204) and wins (T6th). The team went 22-11 in his starts.

Third baseman Aramis Ramirez (38 points) was voted Brewers Top Newcomer, receiving seven first-place votes and one second-place vote. He was followed by outfielder Norichika Aoki (23 points - 1 first-place vote). Ramirez, who was signed by the Brewers as a free agent last December 14, batted .300 with 27 HR and 105 RBI in 149 games this season. He led the National League in doubles (50) and tied Ryan Braun for the NL lead in extra-base hits (80) while ranking among the leaders in total bases (4th, 308), RBI (4th) and slugging percentage (5th, .540). Ramirez also led all Major League third basemen with a .977 fielding percentage as he committed just seven errors in 300 total chances.

Pitcher Marco Estrada (18 points) received two first-place votes, two second-place votes and two third-place votes to narrowly edge outfielder Carlos Gomez (16 points - 2 first place-votes, 2 second-place votes) to earn Brewers Unsung Hero honors. Catcher Martin Maldonado (14 points), outfielder Norichika Aoki (11 points - 2 first-place votes) and pitcher Mike Fiers (5 points) also received first-place votes.

Estrada went 5-7 with a 3.64 ERA in 29 appearances (23 starts) this season. He was the victim of five blown saves. He went 5-2 with a 2.03 ERA over his last eight starts (48.2ip, 11er). Estrada recorded 143 strikeouts in just 138.1 innings pitched this season.

Closer John Axford (26 points) earned the Good Guy Award, receiving two first-place votes, five second-place votes and one third-place vote. First baseman Corey Hart (18 points - 3 first-place votes), outfielder Carlos Gomez (8 points), pitcher Marco Estrada (6 points) and outfielder Nyjer Morgan (5 points) also received first-place votes.